Saturday, May 18, 2024

There seven major chakras, or centers of psychoactive energy, in the human body. They are usually listed either top-down or bottom-up depending upon the secret agenda of the writer. The fact that the seven chakras are aligned along an axis running vertically through the body provides a natural geometry on the chakras. Here they are listed top-down.
   1.sahasrara or crown chakra
   2.ajna or third-eye chakra
   3.vishuddha or throat chakra
   4.anahata or heart chakra
   5.manipura or solar plexus chakra
   6.svadhishthana or navel chakra
   7.muladhara or base chakra

Chakra One: Earth, Physical identity, oriented to self-preservation
Located at the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to our survival instincts, and to our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. Ideally this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence.
Underactive: Lack confidence, ungrounded, weak, feels unlovable, fear of being abandoned, no interest in sex.
Overactive: Egotistic, greedy, domineering
Balanced: Centered, grounded, healthy, unlimited physical energy, fully alive.

Chakra Two: Water, Emotional identity, oriented to self-gratification
The second chakra, located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, is related to the element water, and to emotions and sexuality. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. Ideally this chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change.
Underactive: Lethargy, repression, kidney and spleen disorders, sexual energy disorders, clinging, guilt, frigid or impotent.
Overactive: Excessive sexual energy, negativism, inhibitions, indigestion
Balanced: Friendly, optimistic, creative, imaginative

Chakra Three: Fire, Ego identity, oriented to self-definition
This chakra is known as the power chakra, located in the solar plexus. It rules our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.
Underactive: Depressed, lacking in confidence, worry about what others think, afraid of being alone, confused.
Overactive: Judgmental, workaholic, perfectionist, demanding, emotional in the extreme, complains a lot about relationships.
Balanced: Out going, cheerful, respectful of oneself, strong sense of personal power, spontaneous, relaxed, have found one's gift or talent.

Chakra Four: Air, Social identity, oriented to self-acceptance
This chakra is called the heart chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity. A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centered-ness.
Underactive: Feels sorry for self, paranoid, indecisive, afraid of getting hurt, afraid of letting go, afraid of being abandoned.
Overactive: Demanding, overly critical, moody, melodramatic, manic depressive, attitude of a martyr.
Balanced: Compassionate, humanitarian, see the good in everyone, friendly and outgoing, active in the community.

Chakra Five: Sound, Creative identity, oriented to self-expression
This is the chakra located in the throat and is thus related to communication and creativity. Here we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.
Underactive: Scared and timid, holds back, quiet, inconsistent, unreliable, weak, cannot express their thoughts.
Overactive: Arrogant, self-righteous, talks too much, dogmatic, addictive
Balanced: Contented, centered, can live in the moment, perfect sense of timing, good speaker, spiritual teaching an easy task.

Chakra Six: Light, Archetypal identity, oriented to self-reflection
This chakra is known as the brow chakra or third eye center. It is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. As such it opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of archetypal levels. When healthy it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us "see the big picture."
Underactive:  Non-assertive, undisciplined, oversensitive to the feelings of others, afraid of success.
Overactive: Egomaniac, proud, manipulative, religiously dogmatic and authoritarian.
Balanced: Charismatic, access to the source of all knowledge, can receive guidance, not attached to material things, no fear of death, telepathy, astral travel, past lives connection, not preoccupied with fame, fortune, or worldly things, master of  self.

Chakra Seven: Thought, Universal identity, oriented to self-knowledge
This is the crown chakra that relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless, spaceless place of all-knowing. When developed, this chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.
Underactive: No spark of joy, catatonic, unable to make decisions
Overactive: Constant sense of frustration, unrealized power, frequent migraine headaches.
Balanced: Open to the divine, can transcend the laws of nature, total access to the unconscious and the subconscious.

~ from Maat's Book of Shadows